toss it, baby

So the reason I haven’t been writing is because it wasn’t really benefiting me, emotionally, to reflect over my depression and anxiety. I just want to focus on the things I can do to be healthy, and hopefully as Helen said, the rest will follow.

Tina was here this past weekend; we hung out a bit Saturday night and for most of Sunday. We were supposed to go kayaking, but hopefully we’ll make that happen next time she’s down in SD. On Sunday we drove to the Gaslamp in downtown to grab some lunch. After wandering around in the heat for half an hour, we ended up splitting a salad at Sammy’s Woodfire Pizza. It was delicious, but we were both baffled that a restaurant can make the simplest meals so calorie-dense! 

After that, we drove to Henry’s Marketplace and purchased veggies, cheese, and fruit. Tina picked out looseleaf lettuce, a can of black beans, a can of corn, a cube of Havarti cheese and vegetable called jicama (pictured at the right) for me to make salad with. She said she first sampled it in a CPK salad, and loved the texture and crunchiness it gave the salad. After bringing one home and having a taste, I was much less enthralled. It tastes like a potato! In fact, it is commonly referenced as a Mexican potato. Anywho, I think I’ll stick with radishes for that extra bit of crunchiness. I also purchased nectarines, peaches, bananas, pears, apples and blueberries. Henry’s blew me away with their prices on produce (even though there is a Persian grocery store that sells their produce for even less). And to think of the hard-earned dollars I blew at Albertsons, Ralphs and Vons. Woe is my wallet.

Back to salads, I made a delicious salad today. I finally found a salad dressing I like; Newman’s Own Lighten Up Balsamic Vinaigrette Dressing. Yum yum, and at 45 calories per 2 tablespoons, the taste is even sweeter (metaphorically so, ’cause technically it’s very vinegar-y). My salad consisted of 1 chopped lettuce leaf, 3 sliced radishes, 1 cup of steamed lima beans, 1/2 cup corn, a diced-up round of Laughing Cow’s Babybel Light Cheese, and two tablespoons of dressing. It was good y’all. The only thing that would have made it better is grilled chicken, but I didn’t have time to be cooking no meat this morning. 

Leave a Reply

